Skip to main content

Sir Charles Gairdner Hospital: EndNote

EndNote in WA Health

The WA Health Libraries Network (WAHLiN) has purchased a WA Health-wide EndNote licence. It may be installed at any of the sites mentioned on the licence. If your site is not listed, email the Library and the licence will be amended with the supplier. Log a job with the Health Information Network to have EndNote installed on your PC.

EndNote and EndNote Online (formerly EndNote Web) are available for use. Earlier versions should be uninstalled. Please email the Library if you have any problems (or phone 6457 1166).

Settings for Find Full Text Functionality

You need to set some preferences in order to make use of the Find Full Text function within EndNote.

Note that ‘Find full text’ will work well for many journals but there will be instances where EndNote’s Find Full Text search does not communicate well with a publisher site.  For any not found when using Find Full Text, highlight a reference, right click, then click on  URL and then on OpenURL link. This will connect you to full text where available.

Go to Edit - PreferencesFind Full Text
Tick all four boxes: Web of Science;  DOI;  PubMed LinkOut; and OpenURL.

Do NOT tick the box "Automatically invoke Find Full Text on newly-imported references".  If you tick this box it will restrict full-text retrieval as it only pulls in the full text for references that were imported from text files.  If the references were imported through direct export or from online search the find full text function will fail.

The Find Full Text function also works more effectively if you have an EndNote online account established and if you login and keep open an active browser session whilst running the function.

In the OpenURL Path box, you need to put the link to the Library’s open URL resolver.
https://login.qelibresources.health.wa.gov.au/login?url=http://healthwa.exlibris.com.au/scgh

On WA Health PCs, in the Authenticate with: box, type this URL http://www.google.com.au/ (this step is NOT necessary for home installations).


EndNote @ Home

The WA Health licence agreement for EndNote allows for home installation on PCs or Macs. You will need to agree to the terms and conditions by completing a form. Once you have done that, the software will automatically download to your PC or Mac. After installation, remember to change the EndNote preferences in order to make use of the Find Full Text functionality within EndNote.

Note: If you are upgrading from a previous version of EndNote, please back up your libraries and edited styles. Uninstall the old EndNote before installing the new version, as it can interfere with the linking to Word if you retain both versions of the program.

EndNote for Windows

Complete the EndNote Installation Files for Windows form and begin the download of the installation files.
Once you have completed the download, you will have two files included in a zipped file.
Right click to 'Extract All' files.  This will place 2 files in a directory called ENX8Inst.
Click on the .msi file to begin the installation.
Follow all prompts UNTIL the section headed - 'Select Installation Type'.
Choose a 'Custom' install.  If you choose a Typical install, it will not install all connectors, filters and styles.
In the section called 'Select Features, note the red crosses next to the folders for connectors, filters and styles.  Click the red crosses next to each folder and change the setting to 'Select entire feature - will be installed on local hard drive'.
Continue with other prompts until the installation process is complete.

EndNote for Macs

Complete the EndNote Installation File for Macs form and begin the download of the installation files.
Once you have completed the download you will have a zipped file.
Once you have completed the download, you will have the .dmg file. Click the .dmg file in order to begin the installation process.


Keeping the EndNote software up to date

Once you have installed EndNote, it is simple to check online for updates and install them.  There is an EndNote Knowledge Base article that explains how to do this. Check every few months for updates.  
From within EndNote, click on the "EndNote X8" menu and choose "Check for Updates" then follow the on-screen prompts.


EndNote and Abbreviated Journal Titles

EndNote software includes several subject-based journals term lists that can be imported into an EndNote library. The one that is needed most often is the medical list which covers journals indexed in MEDLINE. This is supplied with EndNote X6 but must be imported into your EndNote library.

First step:
If you have already entered references in your EndNote library before importing the medical journals term list then it is likely that there will already be entries in your EndNote library’s journals term list. It is highly recommended that you delete all these terms before importing the medical list otherwise you may have duplicate entries in your list and EndNote may not be able to select the correct title or abbreviation.

Delete existing terms:

  1. Open your EndNote library
  2. Click Tools > Open Term Lists > Journals Term List
  3. The Term List dialog box opens. Highlight the first journal title. Select all the titles by holding down the Shift key and scrolling to the end of the list then clicking the last title
  4. Click Delete Term > Close

Import the medical journals term list into your EndNote library:

  1. Open your EndNote library
  2. Click Tools > Define Term Lists
  3. Highlight Journals and click Import List
  4. Locate and open the EndNote Terms Lists folder: (at work C:\Program Files\DoH\EndNote X6\Terms Lists, at home C:\Program Files\EndNote X6\Terms Lists)
  5. Highlight Medical and click Open
  6. When the list has been imported you will see this message:
       13134 terms inserted into the ‘Journals’ terms list

Click OK and click Close on the Term Lists dialog box

Note: this list is stored in your EndNote library, i.e. it will be specific to a particular EndNote library rather than to the program. If you have more than one EndNote library, you need to set up the journals term list for each one.


EndNote Online (formerly EndNote Web)

EndNote Online is an optional program that allows you to use your EndNote libraries from anywhere in the world. If you choose to integrate your local installation of EndNote (at work or home) with EndNote Online you will need to need to set up and activate an EndNoteWeb account. Once you have an active EndNoteWeb account you can simply log in to EndNote Online to access your EndNote libraries stored on the EndNote server. EndNote Online is also your best option if it is impossible to upgrade your operating system and version of MS Office. The full functionality of Cite-While-You-Write cannot be used unless you have MS Office 2003 at minimum on your PC.

To set up an EndNote Online account you need to open the EndNote program on your work or home computer. There are two methods for setting up an EndNote Web account:

  1. In EndNote, from the main Library window, click the Sync button that appears in the toolbar to open an EndNote Web Login dialog. Click the Sign Up button to begin the registration and activation process. Follow the online instructions.
  2. In EndNote, go to the Edit menu and select Preferences > Sync Preferences. Click the Enable Sync button to go to the EndNote Web Login dialog. Click the Sign Up button to begin the registration and activation process. Follow the online instructions.

You will not be able to set up an EndNote Web account when you are offsite unless you have already installed the WA Health Endnote program on your home computer.

Once you have registered and activated your account you can access your EndNote Online account at myendnoteweb.com.

The appropriate EndNote Online installer for your operating system and browser can also be downloaded for use on computers that do not have the EndNote software installed.

How Can EndNote Help?

EndNote is a bibliographic software program by Thomson Reuters that allows you to:

  • Create a 'library' of references
  • Search and download references from electronic databases & library catalogues
  • Store downloaded PDFs with their relevant references
  • Generate bibliographies in specific styles

EndNote Issues: The latest version of EndNote for Macs available from the Library site is not compatible with the latest Mac operating system. Earlier versions are also not compatible with Word 2016. We recommend waiting for X8 -  out now. 

EndNote Training Resources

The EndNote website has many training materials available

How to Use EndNote in 7 Minutes (Windows)

Find Duplicates

Attaching Files

Direct Export from PubMed

Contact Us

Mon-Thurs:  8.45am-12.15pm & 1-4pm      Room 229, Level 1, E Block      t. (08) 6457 4143      e. library.scgh@health.wa.gov.au                                                          Feedback / Need Help?