Skip to Main Content

Physiotherapy (SCGH): EndNote

EndNote WA Health

The WA Health Libraries have subscription to both EndNote Desktop and EndNote Online component . 

EndNote 21.3 has been rolled out to all Windows 10 work PCs. If EndNote is not currently available on your SCGH or OPH work computer, please log a job with Health Support Services (use Internet Explorer). 

Download EndNote 21.3 on your home computer from the appropriate tab below.

EndNote 21.3 will only run on Windows 10. Minimum requirement for Word is 2010. For further details see  EndNote guide.

EndNote 21.3 is compatible across platforms - you can create your library on a Mac, save as a compressed library on a USB, then open on a PC and vice versa.

EndNote 21.3 is NOT backwards compatible with EndNote X9.2 and earlier versions, so if you use your libraries at work and at home and have EndNote older version at home, this will be a problem. You will need to upgrade to newer versions of EndNote to continue using your library in multiple locations (see backward compatibility).

How to get EndNote

The WA Health licence agreement for EndNote allows for home installation on Windows PCs and MACs. You will need to agree to the terms and conditions by completing a form. Once the form is submitted, the software will automatically download to your computer. After installation, remember to change the EndNote preferences in order to make use of the Find Full Text functionality within EndNote.

Note: If you are upgrading from a previous version of EndNote, please back up your libraries and edited styles. Uninstall the old EndNote before installing the new version, as it can interfere with the linking to Word if you retain both versions of the program.

EndNote for PC

  1. EndNote 21.3 will only run on Windows 10. The minimum requirement for Word is 2010. For further details see EndNote compatibility requirements.
  2. Uninstall any previous versions of EndNote on your PC. Make sure all libraries, edited styles, filters or connectors stored within the EndNote program folders are saved on an external hard drive / USB prior to the uninstall.
  3. Click on EndNote 21.3 for PC - form > fill-in all boxes >click Submit to begin the download.
  4. Right click the zipped file > Extract both the .msi and license.dat files and save them onto the desktop or into the same folder.
  5. Close Word if it is open so EndNote can install a cite-while-you-write toolbar into Word.
  6. Click on the .msi file.
  7. Follow the installation prompts using the default options UNTIL Select Install Type > choose Custom installation option.
  8. Continue accepting default options UNTIL Select Features.
  9. Click on red crosses next to Additional connections  Additional Filters   Additional Styles > select 'Entire feature will be installed on the local hard drive' for each one.
  10. After this continue selecting the default options until the software install is completed. You can then delete both files from your desktop.
  11. Once downloaded you should Configure EndNote to Find Full Text.
  12. It is important to install updates as prompted.

EndNote for Mac

  1. EndNote 21.3 will only run on Windows 10. The minimum requirement for Word is 2010. For further details see EndNote compatibility requirements.
  2. Uninstall any previous versions of EndNote on your PC. Make sure all libraries, edited styles, filters or connectors stored within the EndNote program folders are saved on an external hard drive / USB prior to the uninstall.
  3. Click on Endnote 21.3 for Mac -form   > fill-in all boxes >click Submit to begin the download.
  4. Right click the zipped file > Extract both the .msi and license.dat files and save them onto the desktop or into the same folder.
  5. Close Word if it is open so EndNote can install a cite-while-you-write toolbar into Word.
  6. Click on the .msi file.
  7. Follow the installation prompts using the default options UNTIL Select Install Type > choose Custom installation option.
  8. Continue accepting default options UNTIL Select Features.
  9. Click on red crosses next to Additional connections  Additional Filters   Additional Styles > select 'Entire feature will be installed on the local hard drive' for each one.
  10. After this continue selecting the default options until the software install is completed. You can then delete both files from your desktop.
  11. Once downloaded you should Configure EndNote to Find Full Text.
  12. It is important to install updates as prompted.

EndNote Online is an optional program that allows you to use your EndNote libraries from anywhere in the world. If you choose to integrate your local installation of EndNote (at work or home) with EndNote Online you will need to need to set up and activate an EndNoteWeb account. Once you have an active EndNoteWeb account you can simply log in to EndNote Online to access your EndNote libraries stored on the EndNote server. EndNote Online is also your best option if it is impossible to upgrade your operating system and version of MS Office. The full functionality of Cite-While-You-Write cannot be used unless you have MS Office 2003 at minimum on your PC.

To set up an EndNote Online account you need to open the EndNote program on your work or home computer. There are two methods for setting up an EndNote Web account:

  1. In EndNote, from the main Library window, click the Sync button that appears in the toolbar to open an EndNote Web Login dialog. Click the Sign Up button to begin the registration and activation process. Follow the online instructions.
  2. In EndNote, go to the Edit menu and select Preferences > Sync Preferences. Click the Enable Sync button to go to the EndNote Web Login dialog. Click the Sign Up button to begin the registration and activation process. Follow the online instructions.

You will not be able to set up an EndNote Web account when you are offsite unless you have already installed the WA Health Endnote program on your home computer.

Once you have registered and activated your account you can access your EndNote Online account at myendnoteweb.com.

With EndNote Online you can synchronise the references in your desktop library to your online library for remote access, and share your library with other EndNote users.

An EndNote Online library can contain an unlimited number of references and attachments.

Register or log in to EndNote Online here.

Clarivate EndNote Online Guide

Synchronising your library

To sync your desktop library with your online library, once you have your account set up, go into EndNote preferences on your desktop application, choose Edit →  Preferences → Sync
Enter your EndNote Online Account Credentials and hit 'Apply'.

Clarivate Library Syncing in EndNote 21

Note:

Your account details for EndNote Online and Web of Science(WoS) must be exactly the same (since WoS is now maintained by Clarivate Analytics - as is Publons). If they are not in sync you will get this message: “Invalid email/password. Please try again”

If you have different passwords:

  • unsync in EndNote (via Edit>Preferences>Sync)
  • update password (use yourWoS password),
  • Resync using your WoS password to Sign in  

Settings for Find Full Text

You need to set some preferences in order to make use of the Find Full Text function within EndNote.

Note that ‘Find full text’ will work well for many journals but there will be instances where EndNote’s Find Full Text search does not communicate well with a publisher site.  For any not found when using Find Full Text, highlight a reference, right click, then click on  URL and then on OpenURL link. This will connect you to full text where available.

Go to Edit - Preferences - Find Full Text
Tick all four boxes: Web of Science;  DOI;  PubMed LinkOut; and OpenURL.

Do NOT tick the box "Automatically invoke Find Full Text on newly-imported references".  If you tick this box it will restrict full-text retrieval as it only pulls in the full text for references that were imported from text files.  If the references were imported through direct export or from online search the find full text function will fail.

The Find Full Text function also works more effectively if you have an EndNote online account established and if you login and keep open an active browser session whilst running the function.

In the OpenURL Path box, you need to put the link to the Library’s open URL resolver.
https://login.qelibresources.health.wa.gov.au/login?url=https://findit.health.wa.gov.au/scgh

On WA Health PCs, in the Authenticate with: box, type this URL http://www.google.com.au/ (this step is NOT necessary for home installations).​

EndNote and Abbreviated Journal Titles (EndNote 21)

EndNote software includes several subject-based journals term lists that can be imported into an EndNote library. The one that is needed most often is the medical list which covers journals indexed in MEDLINE. This is supplied with EndNote but must be imported into your EndNote library.

If you have EndNote X9 or earlier EndNote: Generate full or abbreviated journal names

EndNote™ provides a number of terms list to make sure that the journal names in your bibliography are either the full name or abbreviation as your style requires. To set up your terms list, first make a backup of your library as described at EndNote: Moving, backing up, or transferring libraries to another computer Then, please follow the steps below.  
 

  1. In EndNote, go to "Library > Open Term Lists > Journal Terms List".

  2. Highlight the first journal, and press [Ctrl]+A on the keyboard to highlight all the terms (on a macOS, this would be [Command]+A). Note: If the Journal Terms List is empty, skip to step 4.
  3. Next, press the "Delete Term" button to the right to empty the list of old terms.
  4. Go to the "Lists" tab at the top, and click on the "Import List" button.
  5. Browse to the Term Lists folder within the EndNote folder, and choose to open one of the files that corresponds to the discipline that is found in your library based on the options available in the folder. For Example : select the Medical text file (assuming you want to use the Index Medicus abbreviations).

    If you are on a Windows machine, this folder should default to:
    C:\Program Files\EndNote (EndNote Version Number)\Terms Lists

    If you are on a 64-bit Windows machine, this folder should default to:
    C:\Program Files (X86)\EndNote (EndNote Version Number)\Terms Lists

    If you are on a macOS, this folder should default to:
    Hard Drive: Applications: EndNote (EndNote Version Number): Terms
  6. This will import the correct abbreviations into your library's term list.
  7. Next, to make sure the style is using the correct substitution, go to "Tools > Output Styles > Open Style Manager".
  8. In the list of styles, highlight the style you are using and click the "Edit" button.
  9. Click on "Journal Names" on the left.
  10. Make sure the style is using the Full Name or one of the Abbreviations as needed. 

Note: this list is stored in your EndNote library, i.e. it will be specific to a particular EndNote library rather than to the program. If you have more than one EndNote library, you need to set up the journals term list for each one.

EndNote Videos

How Can EndNote Help?

EndNote is a bibliographic software program that allows you to:

  • Create a 'library' of references
  • Search and download references from electronic databases & library catalogues
  • Store downloaded PDFs with their relevant references
  • Generate bibliographies in specific styles

APA Referencing style 7th Ed. copyright 2020

Need Assistance: Contact Us

SCGOPHCG Hospital library
24 / 7 swipe card access
T:(08) 6457 4143
E: library.scgh@health.wa.gov.au
L: E Block, Level 1, Room 229, Hospital Avenue, Nedlands WA 6009

Department of Research
T: (08) 6457 4531
E: scgh.research@health.wa.gov.au
L: A Block, Level 2, QEII Medical Centre, Hospital Avenue, Nedlands WA 6009

IT assistance
Tel: 13 44 77 
7:30am - 5pm (Mon-Fri)